All sewn up

Those of you that know me well, know how much I love sewing especially using a sewing machine…..NOT! However, give me a needle and thread and I am happy. This has not always been the case, I used to sew quite a lot, making clothes for the kids as well as myself, but somewhere along the line the sewing machine and I had an altercation which resulted in us having words. When we were last at sister Sue’s, she asked if I wanted to use her sewing machine as she thought that would be probably the one thing that I would not have with me. How very perceptive of her, but at that time, there was nothing really that I could think of that needed sewing. Recently though, there have been a couple of times that I have thought hmmm, a sewing machine would be handy to repair that. So on our ‘to-do’ list that we have for when we reach civilisation, I added a hand held sewing machine, like the ones advertised in those throw away sales catalogues, they look a bit like a large stapler. I haven’t seen one advertised for years, so they may not be around any more.

On Friday we all headed into Kaitaia as we had a long list of things to do, appointments to keep! and shopping to be done. Whilst in town I visited the local emporiums and $2 types hope to see if they had one of these machines but to no avail. I called into a local handcraft shop on the off chance that they may have one, no they did not have one although they did know what I was looking for. BUT they did have something much better, a small battery operated/240V small sewing machine and all for just $40! bargain.

Here is it is all it’s glory

20131110-083020.jpg

And for size comparison

20131110-083136.jpg
It is so cute, it even has a reverse mode, varying stitch lengths, a light, and a foot pedal to boost. It does exactly what it says it does, it sews perfectly well and I have repaired everything that needed fixing and more!!! Besides, a certain young granddaughter may eventually benefit from my rash purchase.

One Response to “All sewn up”

  1. Alex Vannini Says:

    No time for sewing… you’ve got knitting to finish 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

